Statistics Resources
All Items by Source

Databases

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Restricted Resource Some full text available

Initial reports of the findings of NBER researchers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works, and committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.


Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available
 With Statista, you can access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

Provides full text for more than 5,300 scholarly publications, including full text for 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1865.


Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 27,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,400 peer-reviewed business publications. Subjects include virtually all areas related to business. Coverage for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dates as far back as 1886. Also includes full text country economic reports, company profiles, country reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, and market research reports.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

A journal archive covering arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage extends until 3-5 years ago. *Current issues may be available in other databases - to see our complete full-text coverage for a particular journal title, use the Magazines/Journal search in the library catalog.


LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available

Law news, law review articles, case law, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, law directories, and more. Select "People" in the red "Search" bar to search biographical information from a wide range of U. S. and international sources. Especially helpful for finding out about persons active in business or politics.


MEDLINE via EBSCO Restricted Resource

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


MEDLINE via PubMed

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


Print Resources

Demographics of the United States: Trends & Projections
Print Location: REF-DESK HB 849.49 .U5 R87 2000 (Shelved in Reference area)

Demographic trends, 1950-2000, and projections for the future.


Fitzroy Dearborn Book of World Rankings
Print Location: REF HA 155 .K87 1998

Handbook of International Economic Statistics (CIA)
Print Location: REF HA 155 .U54

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Print Location: REF-DESK HA 202 .A2 (Shelved in Reference area)

The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually by the U. S. Census Bureau.


Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Print Location: REF HA 12.5 .U63 (Shelved in Reference area)
 
The World Almanac and Book of Facts
Print Location: REF AY 67 .N5 W7 (Shelved in Reference area)

Census and Population Information

American FactFinder

Source for U.S. Census information


Kids Count (Annie E. Casey Foundation)

"A national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S." Provides national and state population data on age, gender, households, families, and housing units.


U. S. Census Bureau

Go to "Subjects A to Z" at the top of the page for a list of topic-related census information.


U.S. Census Bureau's Guide to Census Tract Resources

Tracts and other geographical divisions for the 1990 and 2000 Censuses.


U.S. Historical Census Data Browser (University of Virginia)

The U.S. Census, 1790-1960. Includes most present-day counties.


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

WorldAlmanac (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia; The World Almanac and Book of Facts; The World Almanac of the U.S.A.; The World Almanac of U.S. Politics; The World Almanac for Kids. Offers fundamental reference source for users at all levels.

American & British Literature

Govistics Some full text available

Govistics is your one-stop source for spending, revenue, employment and crime data for governments across the nation. Plus, spending and revenues for school districts.


Websites-General

Data.gov
 The U.S. government's open data site, with roughly 450,000 datasets from 172 federal agencies.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Restricted Resource Some full text available

Initial reports of the findings of NBER researchers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works, and committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.


FedStats

Statistics from over 100 U. S. federal agencies.  Browse or search by topic.


Statistical Abstract of the United States (Online)

Covers all topic areas, 1878-present. Paper copy available in the Library.


Statistical Resources on the Web: Comprehensive Economics (U. of Michigan)

Large guide covering a range of topic areas, including foreign statistics, finance, labor and trade.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help? Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help Desk (607) 735-1864