Nursing
All Items by Source

Databases

CINAHL (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides indexing for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982, with links to the full text of many articles in other GTL databases. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full text material includes 60 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. (NOTE: To search for journals at the Arnot Ogden Medical Center library: Go to WorldCat, search for the journal's title, limit type to "Serial Publications", and type YTK into the "Library Code" box on the search screen.)


Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (EBSCO) Restricted Resource

Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.


Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (EBSCO) Restricted Resource

Part of the Cochrane group of databases, includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.


Health Reference Center Academic (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available

Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. (NOVELNY)


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also indexes articles for an additional 850 journals.


MEDLINE via EBSCO Restricted Resource

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


MEDLINE via PubMed

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

Provides full text for more than 5,300 scholarly publications, including full text for 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1865.


Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Ovid Nursing Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

An excellent collection of searchable, full-text nursing journals including the Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals. Select "Your Journals @ Ovid," then click "Selected Resources" to access the database.


WorldCat (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource

Search 63,000,000+ bibliographic records from 50,500 libraries in 84 countries. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.  


WorldCat Dissertations (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
All cataloged dissertations, theses and published material in all subjects based on theses and dissertations to the present.

Print Resources - General Overviews

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health [5 v.]
Print Location: REF RT 21 .G353 2002

Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
Print Location: REF RT 31 .S66 1999

Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary, 5th ed.
Print Location: REF R 121 .M89 1998 (Shelved in Reference area)

Print Resources - Holistic and Alternative Nursing

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine [4 v.]
Print Location: REF R 733 .G34 2001 (Shelved in Reference area)

Nurse's handbook of alternative & complementary therapies
Print Location: REF RT 42 .N83 1999 (Shelved in Reference area)

Print Resources - Public Health and Human Services

Chemung County Human Services Directory
Print Location: REF-DESK HV 35 .C54

Encyclopedia of Public Health [4 v.]
Print Location: REF RA 423 .E53 2002

Healthy People 2010
Print Location: Gov Docs HE 20.2:P 39/3/
 

Print Resources - Drugs & Pharmacology

Mosby's Drug Consult
Print Location: REF-DESK RS 55.2 .P48

Physician's Desk Reference
Print Location: REF-DESK RS 575 .P5 (Shelved in Reference area)

The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs and Biologicals
Print Location: REF RS 51 .M4 2006 (Shelved in Reference area)

Organizations and Associations

Department of Health and Human Services

HHS Agencies -- includes the CDC, FDA, and NIH.


Community Health Links

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Federal programs and assistance available to the public.


County Health Indicator Profiles, 2001-2005 (NYS Department of Health)

Mortality, pregnancy, hospitalization rates, disease rates.


Health, United States(with Chartbook)

Statistical companion to Healthy People. Previous years available: 1993-2003 (with Chartbooks); 1975-1992 (without Chartbooks). (NOTE: Many files on this site are large PDF files which take a long time to download and print. Please ask the Library's Research Help Desk for assistance.)


Healthy People 2010 (Online)

Links to publications and related web sites.


New York State Senate

Legislation, news, member information.


Nursing Theorists and Leaders

Medi-Smart Nursing History Page

Excellent collection of links to nursing history pages.


Nursing History Resources

From the American Association for the History of Nursing.


Nursing Theory Page (University of San Diego)

Covers nursing leaders, models and theories. Includes bibliographies to print sources.


Statistical Sources

America's Children (Forum on Child and Family Statistics)

Statistics on the health, education, and welfare of U.S. youth; part of ChildStats.


Atlas of United States Mortality (NCHS)

Causes of death by county.


County and City Extra : Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Print Location: REF-DESK HA 203 .C68 2002

Data and Statistics (CDC)

Statistics arranged according to topic.


Health, United States (with chartbooks)
Print Location: REF-DESK RA407.3 .U57a

most recent edition; older years: HE 20.21: year; HE 20.6223: year; HE 20.7042/6: year


MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)

Covers current health issues, and gives weekly and year-to-date mortality statistics of major U.S. cities.


National Center for Health Statistics

The primary U. S. clearinghouse for health-related statistics.


Older Americans 2008

Statistics on the health, education, and welfare of Americans age 65 and over.


Statistical Abstract of the United States
Print Location: REF-DESK HA 202 .A2 (Shelved in Reference area)

The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually by the U. S. Census Bureau.


Statistical Abstract of the United States (Online)

Covers all topic areas, 1878-present. Paper copy available in the Library.


Statistical Record of Health and Medicine, 2nd ed.
Print Location: REF RA 407.3 .S732 1998

Statistics & Data (NYS Department of Health)

Statistics arranged by topic.


Websites-General

Merck Manuals

Manuals of: Diagnosis and Therapy; Medical Information; Geriatrics;and Health and Aging.


HealthFinder

Consumer-oriented government gateway to "reliable" health information and organizations.


National Library of Medicine

Health information, and links to databases.


NursingCenter.com (Lippincott)

News, resources, and links to professional organizations and online journals.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help? Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help Desk (607) 735-1864