Marketing
All Items by Source

Databases

ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Search nearly 1800 worldwide business, trade, and industry periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Covers international business publications as well as city, state, and regional business publications, with publications on every major industry. Also includes over 60,000 company entries with business and executive profiles.


Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available
With Statista, you can access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. Statista.com is the first statistics portal in the world to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from more than 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Statista provides professors, researchers, and students within the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts and statistics, all of which may be directly downloaded in Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG formats for convenient integration into presentations and reports. In addition, Statista has expanded the database to include the most important international statistics, facts, and market data. 

Barron's (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

America's premier financial magazine, providing in-depth analysis and commentary on the markets updated every business day. Each issue (1988 - current) is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also the information contained in the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.


Business Insights: Essentials (Gale - NOVELny) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).


Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 27,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,400 peer-reviewed business publications. Subjects include virtually all areas related to business. Coverage for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dates as far back as 1886. Also includes full text country economic reports, company profiles, country reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, and market research reports.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

A journal archive covering arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage extends until 3-5 years ago. *Current issues may be available in other databases - to see our complete full-text coverage for a particular journal title, use the Journals/Magazines search in the library catalog.


LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available

Law news, law review articles, case law, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, law directories, and more. Select "People" in the red "Search" bar to search biographical information from a wide range of U. S. and international sources. Especially helpful for finding out about persons active in business or politics.


National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes coverage of 30 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times, plus other important U.S. papers.


Regional Business News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full-text coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELny) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

WorldCat (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource

Search 63,000,000+ bibliographic records from 50,500 libraries in 84 countries. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.  


WorldCat Dissertations (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
All cataloged dissertations, theses and published material in all subjects based on theses and dissertations to the present.

Organizations and Associations

Market Research Firms

ACNielsen

Specializes in retail measurement for the consumer products and service industries.


IMS Health

Gathers and distributes pharmaceutical and healthcare market intelligence.


Information Resources Incorporated (IRI)

Researches the international consumer goods industry.


Ipsos-ASI

Offers advertising research and tracking, brand equity evaluation, and pre-testing services.


Nielsen Media Research

Researches and measures the TV and radio broadcasting industries.


Nielsen NetRatings

Data on Internet usage and advertising.


Determining Market Share

Industry Data Finder (Rensselaer at Hartford)

Pages for each industry list NAICS and SIC codes, as well as links to websites on industry profiles, financials, and statistics, trade associations, industry publications, government and regulatory agencies, major companies, news, and industry forecasts.


Statistical Sources

American FactFinder

Source for U.S. Census information


CPI: Consumer Price Index (U.S. Department of Labor)

Standard index for the cost of living in the U.S.


Development Data & Statistics (World Bank)

Economic indicators by country, region, or for the world, and also by economic sector or topic. (Complete data available on CD-ROM at the GTL Research Help Desk.)


FedStats

Statistics from over 100 U. S. federal agencies.  Browse or search by topic.


New York Quick Links (U.S. Census Bureau)

Links to information on population, economics, and geography.


Penn World Tables (University of Toronto)

"Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004." Includes hundreds of economic indicators sorted by country.


Statistical Abstract of the United States (Online)

Covers all topic areas, 1878-2012. Paper copy of 2013 available in the Library Reserves.


U. S. Census Bureau

Go to "Subjects A to Z" at the top of the page for a list of topic-related census information.


Databases

Research Monitor (Euromonitor International) TRIAL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research Monitor is a reference database designed specifically for libraries. It offers an introduction to Euromonitor International's industry and country research with reports for 80 countries and daily articles and opinions from industry and country experts. Coverage is global with an equal depth of research for every country.

American & British Literature

Films On Demand: Career & Technical Education Collection Restricted Resource
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 15,000+ videos and 200,000+ segments for topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The collections are dynamic, so any new videos are added to the resource automatically. Public performance rights are also included.

Websites-General

Google Groups

Archive of over 700 million Internet newsgroup messages on all topics, from 1981 to present. An excellent resource for learning how people felt about life, current events, and lifestyle options during the last 20 years.


OAIster Restricted Resource
Union catalog of digital resources from open archive collections, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing access to the object in a single click.
Marketing & Advertising Websites (U Penn Library)

A short list of useful websites.


Marketing - U.S. and International (Louisiana State University Libraries)

Country information, import and export statistics, foreign policies, and trade agreements.


Marketing Virtual Library (KnowThis.com)

Information on all aspects of marketing, including legal issues, marketing careers, and education.


MarketingProfs.com

"Marketing know-how from professionals + professors."


NAICS: North American Industry Classification System (U.S. Census Bureau)

NAICS replaces the SIC system, reflecting the shift from a manufacturing economy to one based on service industries. The site allows searching, and contains tables showing correspondences between NAICS and SIC.


SIC: Standard Industrial Classification System (1987)

Allows searching by keyword, or searching by SIC code for a description of the classification.


Tapestry Segmentation

A lifestyle segmentation product that provides a demographic overview for each U. S. ZIP code. Includes information on income, age, household type, education, occupation, home value, and other consumer characteristics. Produced by ESRI.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help? Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help (607) 735-1864