International Business
All Items by Source

Databases

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Restricted Resource Some full text available

Initial reports of the findings of NBER researchers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works, and committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.


Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available
 With Statista, you can access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 
ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Search nearly 1800 worldwide business, trade, and industry periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Covers international business publications as well as city, state, and regional business publications, with publications on every major industry. Also includes over 60,000 company entries with business and executive profiles.


Barron's (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

America's premier financial magazine, providing in-depth analysis and commentary on the markets updated every business day. Each issue (1988 - current) is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also the information contained in the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.


Business Insights: Essentials (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. (NOVELNY)


Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 27,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,400 peer-reviewed business publications. Subjects include virtually all areas related to business. Coverage for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dates as far back as 1886. Also includes full text country economic reports, company profiles, country reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, and market research reports.


InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource Some full text available

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. (NOVELNY)


LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available

Law news, law review articles, case law, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, law directories, and more. Select "People" in the red "Search" bar to search biographical information from a wide range of U. S. and international sources. Especially helpful for finding out about persons active in business or politics.


Wall Street Journal - 1984-current (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Wall Street Journal - 1984-current provides recent coverage with articles available in HTML full-text format. Both Wall Street Journal databases can be searched simultaneously (with other newspaper sources) using the ProQuest News & Newspapers subject button.


Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

A journal archive covering arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage extends until 3-5 years ago. *Current issues may be available in other databases - to see our complete full-text coverage for a particular journal title, use the Magazines/Journal search in the library catalog.


WorldCat (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource

Search 63,000,000+ bibliographic records from 50,500 libraries in 84 countries. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.  


Print Resources

Countries and Their Cultures (4 v.)
Print Location: REF GN 307 .C68 2001 (Shelved in Reference area)

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: How to do Business in 60 Countries
Print Location: REF HF 5389 .M67 2006 (Shelved in Reference area)

World Development Indicators [The World Bank]
Print Location: REF HC 59.15 .W656 (Shelved in Reference area)

World Development Reports [The World Bank]
Print Location: REF HC 59.7 .W659 (Shelved in Reference area)

World Economic Outlook [International Monetary Fund]
Print Location: REF HC 10 .W7979 (Shelved in Reference area)

World Factbook [CIA]
Print Location: REF G 122 .U56a (Shelved in Reference area)

International Market Information

Country and Industry Market Reports (Export.gov)

Includes the most recent information on countries and international markets. Requires free registration.


Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices (U.S. Department of State)

Comparative reports published between 1993 and 2001. They provide a comprehensive overview of significant U.S. trading and economic partners.


International Economic Accounts (U.S. Department of Commerce)

Includes statistics and estimates on international balance of payments, international investment positions, trade in goods and services, direct investment, and international services.


Market Access and Compliance (U.S. Department of Commerce)

Provides market, political, and policy information. Formerly known as GEMS.


U.S. Commercial Service (Dept. of Commerce)

One-stop source for exporting and trade information and statistics.


International Statistics

Development Data & Statistics (World Bank)

Economic indicators by country, region, or for the world, and also by economic sector or topic. (Complete data available on CD-ROM at the GTL Research Help Desk.)


International Database (U.S. Census Bureau)

Social, economic, and population statistics for most of the countries of the world.


Penn World Tables (University of Toronto)

"Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004." Includes hundreds of economic indicators sorted by country.


Statistical Agencies (U.S. Census Bureau)

Links to the federal statistical bureaus of foreign governments.


Websites-General

Bureau of Economic, Energy & Business Affairs (U.S. Department of State)

Country information, economic sanctions and other news.


globalEDGE (International Business Center, Michigan State University)

Contains information articles, news stories, links to periodicals, and country-specific information links.


SEDAR

Filings and documents of public companies and mutual funds in Canada.


U. S. International Trade Commission

Issues reports on trade practice and global trends, and how they affect the U.S.


World Bank

Information on programs and practices. Gives regional summaries for countries receiving aid.


World Factbook (CIA)

Basic background information on foreign countries, including political, economic, and cultural information. Also includes country maps and flags.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help?Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help Desk (607) 735-1864