History
All Items by Source

Databases

America: History & Life (EBSCO) Restricted Resource

Indexes articles, books, reviews, and dissertations on the history of Canada and the United States. Covers 1964 to present. Linked full text may be available in other GTL databases.


Hartford Courant - 1764-1988 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Tribune - 1841-1922 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
OmniFile Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Restricted Resource

Indexes articles, books, reviews, and dissertations on world history from 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers 1954 to present. Linked full text may be available in other GTL databases.


Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, with full text for nearly 400 periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.


Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (Wilson/EBSCO) Restricted Resource

An index covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Covers 1907-1984. Includes some full text. Linked full text may be available in other GTL databases.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

A journal archive covering arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage extends until 3-5 years ago. *Current issues may be available in other databases - to see our complete full-text coverage for a particular journal title, use the Journals/Magazines search in the library catalog.


ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

Theory and research in international affairs. Includes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Also includes maps and country information, and teaching materials such as original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, and course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.


European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
A comprehensive index to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 containing more than 32,000 entries.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Alexander St. Press) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Primary documents on US women's history, plus a chronology, a dictionary, and more. A joint production of the Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at the State University of New York, Binghamton, and Alexander Street Press.


Clase and Periodica Restricted Resource
Clase indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to more than 600,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as in publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Searchable full text and images of: Hartford Courant (1764-1987), New York Times (1851-2009), New York Tribune (1841-1922), Wall St. Journal (1889-1995), and Washington Post (1877-1996). Newspaper titles can be searched individually by clicking on the "Searching" feature at the top of the screen and then selecting the desired newspaper.


Black Newspapers (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

This database provides access to current esteemed Black newspapers from across the U.S. with coverage from 1989-present and is cross-searchable with all of the newspaper collections on the ProQuest platform.


New York Times - 1851-2007 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available

New York Times - 1851-2007 provides searchable full-text and full-image articles, dating from its first issue in 1851 through 2007. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. Researchers can use the database to find news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.


New York Times - 1980-current (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

New York Times - 1980-current provides recent coverage, with articles available in HTML full-text format. The two databases can be searched simultaneously (with other newspaper sources) using the ProQuest News & Newspapers subject button.


Wall Street Journal - 1889-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.


Washington Post - 1877-1994 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.


Washington Post - 1988-current (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. You have access to the full text of top news stories as well as information contained in the various sections of the paper.


Facts on File World News Digest Restricted Resource Some full text available

Key news stories from more than 100 major newspapers, magazines, and other sources from the U.S. and world, from 1940 to present.


Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

Provides full text for more than 5,300 scholarly publications, including full text for 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1865.


Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELny) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service which includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.


Research Library (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.


WorldCat (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource

Search 63,000,000+ bibliographic records from 50,500 libraries in 84 countries. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.  


WorldCat Dissertations (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
All cataloged dissertations, theses and published material in all subjects based on theses and dissertations to the present.

Print Resources - Countries and Regions

Encyclopedia of Asian History [4 v.]
Print Location: DS 31 .E53 1988

Print Resources - General Overviews

Timetables of History
Print Location: D 11 .G78 1991

Print Resources - Special Topics

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust [3 v.]
Print Location: D 804.3 .E53 1990

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic world [6 v.]
Print Location: DS 35.53 .O96 2009

Organizations and Associations

Databases

Films on Demand: FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 15,000+ videos and 200,000+ segments for topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The collections are dynamic, so any new videos are added to the resource automatically. Public performance rights are also included.
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 15,000+ videos and 200,000+ segments for topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The collections are dynamic, so any new videos are added to the resource automatically. Public performance rights are also included.

Websites - American and British History

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
American Women's History: A Research Guide

Provides citations to print resources and links to online resources, including primary resources.


HarpWeek

Selected historical items from the 19th century magazine Harper's Weekly.


Primary Sources

American Archives

An indexed and searchable version of Peter Force's original collection of Revolutionary era texts.


American Memory (Library of Congress)

Offers "more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections." An incredible resource for text and images from America's past.


Avalon Project at Yale Law School

A collection of historical documents primarily related to American history. Also contains ancient, medieval, and Renaissance documents.


Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)

Electronic versions of primary historical texts from all countries and periods.


Making of America (University of Michigan)

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. NOTE: The two sites provide access to different content. The Cornell University site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The University of Michigan site provides access to approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help? Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help (607) 735-1864