Biology
All Items by Source

Databases

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available

AccessScience is a general science reference tool, with over 8,500 encyclopedia articles, more than 111,000 definitions of scientific terms, biographies of more than 2,000 scientists, and 15,000 illustrations.  Content also includes videos, Flash animations, podcasts, and RSS feeds.


WorldCat (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource

Search 63,000,000+ bibliographic records from 50,500 libraries in 84 countries. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.  


AGRICOLA

Catalog of the National Agricultural Library (AGRICultural OnLine Access), and primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information, including material in agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. It does not contain full text, but thousands of its records are linked to full-text documents online.


BioOne Abstracts and Indexes Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource

BioOne provides searchable, full text access to a selection of over 80 peer-reviewed journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. The BioOne Abstracts and Indexes Databases (BAID) was developed by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and is accessed via their database site. The key advantage to searching BioOne using the BAID database is the ability to use CSA's thesaurus searching with descriptors, identifiers, and other controlled vocabulary qualifiers and filters. Articles can then be accessed in full text.


GreenFILE (EBSCO) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment  with indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as full text for more than 4,700 records from scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

MEDLINE via EBSCO Restricted Resource

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


MEDLINE via PubMed

Index of over 3,500 journals worldwide in all areas of medicine, including human biology and physiology.


JSTOR Plant Science Restricted Resource Resource contains images

JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It includes hundreds of thousands of type specimens, paintings, drawings, correspondence, and supporting materials such as expedition travelogues, letters, photographs, botanical paintings and drawings, and digitized entries from reference books.


Clase and Periodica Restricted Resource
Clase indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to more than 600,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as in publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

Provides full text for more than 5,300 scholarly publications, including full text for 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1865.


Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELNY) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Research Library (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service which includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.


WorldCat Dissertations (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
All cataloged dissertations, theses and published material in all subjects based on theses and dissertations to the present.

Print Resources

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology
Print Location: REF QR 81 .A5 1994 (Shelved in Reference area)

An aid to identifying unknown bacteria.


Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Print Location: REF QR 81 .B46 2001 (Shelved in Reference area)

Bacterial classification and nomenclature.


Encyclopedia of Genetics
Print Location: REF QH 427 .E54 2001 (Shelved in Reference area)

Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Print Location: REF QR 9 .E53 2000 (Shelved in Reference area)

Gray's Manual of Botany
Print Location: REF QK 117 .G75 1970 (Shelved in Reference area)

Classic text on plant classification and nomenclature.


Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.
Print Location: REF QL 7 .G7813 2003 [17 v.] (Shelved in Reference area)

Classification and description of animals, with many photographs and illustrations.


Electronic Journals

BioMed Central
220 peer-reviewed research journals in biology and medicine. All articles are full-text and open access. Free registration required.
Expert Reviews in Molecular Medicine

Abstracts only, no full text.


HighWire (Stanford University)

Searchable index of life science journals. Contains over 1,900,000 free full text articles.


Genetics, Cloning and Bioethics Websites

AgNIC Gateway (U of Maryland)

Information about agricultural biotechnology, including genetically altered foods. Browse by subject or search the database by keyword.


Bioethics Resources on the Web (National Institutes of Health)

Resources on bioethics, human and animal research, and the implications of biotechnology.


Genomics.energy.gov

Links to several genome project sites (including the Human Genome Project) and to other related information.


NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information

Databases, GeneBank, information, and research.


Tree of Life, Evolution and Biodiversity Websites

NatureServe

Information on conservation and biodiversity. Includes an encyclopedia of U. S. and Canadian plants, animals, and ecosystems.


Science and Creationism (National Academy of Sciences)

Online book explaining the basics of evolution.


Tree of Life (University of Arizona)

Illustrations, explanations, and research.


Websites-General

Biology Links (Harvard University)

Links by broad topic area and resource type.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Need help? Ask us!
Research Librarian
Research Help Desk (607)735-1864